The Face of Newark Abroad

11 Days to Paris

The two week countdown has begun. 11 days left in the states before I ship off to Paris!

This is starting to feel too good to be true. Do I really have my ticket purchased, my passport, my visa, my birth certificate, and my french bank account?!?? YES! This is happening. I am leaving this all behind. 

Although I speak as if I will never return, I will have to. Unfortunately my visa expires at some point. So many things are running through my mind … : What will my apartment look like? Will I live close to where my classes are? Will there be a lot of Americans in my program? Will I have to get a job? How long will my dissertation be? Will I be able to express myself in French?

Yikes! This is overwhelming yet exciting. My adrenaline is pumping and I will close my eyes soon and awake in Paris, France. 

While I’m counting down I will also continue to clean and discard. I am leaving my worldly possessions behind. (Much to the delight of my sister who happens to wear the same sizes.)

I’m putting America in my hindsight and Paris is on the horizon. 

Watch out Europe. Here I come!

😉

Comments on: "11 Days to Paris" (18)

  1. You’re going to have the most amazing time living there (give or take the expensive prices). I can’t wait to read about how you find it, be sure to take loads of pictures for us!

  2. My sister is living in Paris and is loving it. Hope you will, too. Hope you are also prepared for houseguest – I definitely take advantage of having cheap accommodations 🙂

    • You sound like my friends and family too. I told them my apartment will be the size of a shoe box I’m sure.
      They said they didn’t mind and would sleep on the floor!

      If I get any visitors we’ll make it work. : )

      • My sister makes it work too… and is getting pretty good at sending me out on an adventure when she is tired of playing tour guide.

        Bon Voyage!!

  3. Sounds like fun! If you make it over the channel to England let me know!

    James*

  4. NateIsAGirl'sName said:

    Good luck!!

  5. You are going to have a ball!!! Love Paris. Going back there in November for a wedding.

  6. Went there for the first time in April for the marathon (husband competed, I ate croissants). You will love Paris. Enjoy!

  7. Have a great time in Paris. Looking forward to hearing about your adventures!

  8. You will be so enriched by this experience! Best of luck!

  9. Sounds like an amazing experience! Best of luck and enjoy all the good french food and wine!

  10. I feel terribly excited for you! I went to the United Kingdom on a working holiday maker visa for two years. It was the best two years of my life so far. 🙂

    You will see a whole new world I can promise you. 🙂
    Enjoy!

  11. B and I want to do Paris next Spring, ideally late April for my 50th birthday, but probably either late March/early April, or late May. (Working around school for our kids, sigh.)

    I’m envious!

  12. CinZilicious said:

    Thx for stopping by my blog! Wising you all the best in Paris and i look forward in hearing all about it=)

    p.s. i have been to Paris before and i gotta say, its a beautiful and romantic city!!! =D

    http://cinzee.wordpress.com

  13. Cool, cool. Heading to Argentina/Brazil Friday! Hope you liked the post!

  14. Have fun in Paris! I spent a year there when I was in high school. Definitely had no regrets from my stay.

  15. “What Paris has, – it has an ethos… a life… it has… a spirit all of its own. Like a wine, it has a… a bouquet.”

  16. Hello my dear,
    I was finally able to check out your blog after you have posted on mine so long ago… And I’m loving it. I’m at work right now so I have some time to read and I can’t wait to continue. I’m only around August 16th, so before your departure to Europe, and now it’s November already. Looking forward about your first steps in this strange new world!
    I also finally got my acceptance letter to my favorite Grad school in Copenhagen and will be leaving on February 10th… Time is really flying by. If you happend to travel across Scandinavia any time soon, write me!

    Love, S.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

