The Face of Newark Abroad

When in Champagne…

Paris in the Spring is beautiful, enchanting and a little crowded. Fortunately, there is a great solution if you are looking for a break from tourists or the bustle of city life. Getaway for the day and take a trip to the Champagne region of France! There are many quaint and beautiful towns to visit there.

Champagne houses offer tours for individuals and groups that can include Champagne tastings. During my trip I visited two champagne houses. The first was the house of Mumm. This champagne is relatively well-known. The tour guide was friendly and answered all of our questions. We were shown a film and then taken downstairs into the cellar to see the vats and old equipment and machines used for producing and bottling the champagne.

Following Mumm, we ate lunch at Le Cheval Blanc (The White Horse). The three course meal was delicious and the presentation was superb! We began with bread, cheese puffs, and champagne bien sur (of course)! The first course was jambon (ham) with spinach, walnuts and cheese.

 For the main course I had the steak. Everyone was served red wine with the meal. The fruit tart for dessert was almost too pretty to eat!

We left there satisfied and en route to the next champagne house, Acueil. This one was more of a “Mom and Pop” champagne house and it was an even better experience.

Even though we had a translator because we could not understand all of the French, the proprietor made us feel welcomed. We toured the facilities, were given a lesson explaining how other companies buy grapes from him.

 Finally came the champagne tasting. He and his wife even had a snack to go along with the champagnes. After tasting two champagnes, he insisted that we try the rose. We said, “Well, if you insist.”

Visit Reims and the Champagne region of France. You will enjoy the character and hospitality of the locals. Also, when in Champagne, drink champagne!

Comments on: "When in Champagne…" (33)

  1. Love the idea and concept behind your blog. Keep up the great work!

  2. meusintuitus said:

    Looks delicious! I love food-talk haha.

  3. We haven’t visited Champagne yet, but it looks amazing! We will need to add this region to our never-ending-list-of-places.. and I would highly recommend Grenoble!

    Thanks again for stopping by my blog, have a wonderful summer!

    Elise

    • @Elise No problem! I’m glad you enjoyed the blog. Once I arrived back in Paris I said the summer was over because of the dreary weather. One friend said the summer never came. Eh well. I enjoyed my fun in the sun in the U.S.

  4. that food looks so good.. makes me hungry! 😉
    thanks for visiting my blog!

  5. bernadetteryan said:

    I love this post. I completely fell in love with France when I first visited at 16. Thanks for your comment on my blog. I was just putting up a test post, but now I’ll get down to the real blogging! I’ll subscribe to your blog and look forward to reading more!

  6. i, loved your blog! Great tips! And I always try to speak French as well…at least they will see I’m making some effort…I love France, and french.. and everything from there! xx 🙂

  7. Its always so interesting how delicate and intriguing food is in France. Especially their desserts! MMmm
    Warm greetings from yumyum!:D

    • @anelek, Everyone does love the French pastries and desserts. They are much fancier than what I consider dessert back home (Chips Ahoy cookies and ice cream)!

  8. Your blog makes us miss Paris. And we’re a little hungry now, too.

  9. Hey, thanks for visiting my blog! I was just in Paris for 4 days but looking at your blog you’re lucky enough to be seeing a lot more of France – Champagne sounds amazing, love Mumm! Will keep an eye out for your next post…

  10. I love the first course with the ham.. and that steak looks absolutely amazing. Wow.. this post definitely got me hungry lol

    • I surprisingly really liked the first course too. It wouldn’t be something I’d normally order.
      I am guilty of posting food photos often. Guess I’m turning into a foodie (lol). Merci for stopping by.

  11. HennieTriana Oberst said:

    The trip sounds very interesting. I like those pictures of the food, look yummy.

  12. I have yet to make it out to Champagne, but I am really looking forward to when I finally do!

  13. Reading your blog brings back really good memories. Such a stunning part of France.
    Keep up this great blog
    http://lennyjk.wordpress.com/

  14. Thanks for the comment :). Friends around the world are the best! I definitely want to spend some time in Paris at some point so I’m sure I’ll enjoy your blog!

  15. Lost in France said:

    Now that to me sounds like a great way to spend an afternoon, or even a whole day.

    • @LostinFrance, This is definitely a day trip. Spending time in the Champagne houses being educated and taste-testing is wonderful! I will be back there in the Spring for sure. You should go also!

  16. Always wanted to visit that part of France, perhaps someday. Thanks for sharing this though, gave many ideas on what to do when chance permits!
    Cheers!

  17. I was lucky enough to visit that part of France and it is gorgeous!

  18. Lovely pictures. Someday I will make it to Europe. In the meantime I will live vicariously through your blog. Cheers.

  19. Like most, I agree this is a great part of France. Nothing quite like drinking champagne in its birthplace. We combined our wine cave tour with a trip to Reims cathedral and it was breathtaking. My wife and her French family travelling were whisking through it like no big deal, but I took my time and strolled through twice. It’s some kinda lucky life to be close so many amazing things!

  20. I was really interested to read about the small champagne house Accueil – I’ll look out for their wine from now on.

  21. Nice blog… with wonderful concept!
    Thanks for your comment in my blog, but i am really sorry that it got deleted, as you did n’t comment on original post. I deleted that link, so your comment also got deleted. So hope to see you again 🙂

  22. I can’t wait to eat real food again! Great pics!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

